IIFA Awards 2017 Winners list: Alia Bhatt and Shahid Kapoor win best actors for Udta Punjab; Sonam Kapoor’s Neerja bags Best Film award

This year’s most talked about event, International Indian Film Academy Awards was held at the most populous city of US-New York on July 15. B-town celebrities like Varun Dhawan, Salman Khan, Alia Bhatt, Katrina Kaif, Sonakshi Sinha and Shahid Kapoor along with his wife Mira Rajput, marked their presence at the grand event to honour the best talent in Indian Cinema. And the extravagant evening was hosted by none other than the famous film maker, Karan Johar and the very talented actor, Saif Ali Khan at the MetLife Stadium in New York City. The superbly choreographed performances by Alia Bhatt, Varun Dhawan, Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Shahid Kapoor, Sushant Singh Rajput, Kriti Sanon and many others filled the audience with awe.

Shahid Kapoor experienced his best IIFA so far. Not only did he blew the stage with his power packed dance performance on his super hit tracks but also got luckier by walking on the green carpet with his beloved, Mira Rajput this time and winning the Best Actor Award in the Leading Role Category for his film, Udta Punjab. Shahid’s co-star in Udta Punjab, Alia Bhatt, won the Best Actor Award in a Leading Role Female. While the duo, managed to bag Best actor awards for Udta Punjab, Diljit Dosanjh also won an award for the film as the Best Debutant. And the Best Film award was bagged by Neerja.

Here’s the full list of winners of IIFA 2017:

Best Actor Male: Shahid Kapoor for Udta Punjab.

Best Actor Female: Alia Bhatt for Udta Punjab.

Best Debutant – Male: Diljit Dosanjh for Udta Punjab.

Best Debutant – Female: Disha Patani for M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story.

Best Director: Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury for Pink.

Best Film: Neerja

Best Music Direction: Pritam for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

Best Lyricist: Amitabh Bhattacharya for the song Channa Mere Ya from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

Best Supporting Role-Male: Anupam Kher for M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story.

Best Supporting-Female: Shabana Azmi for Neerja.

Myntra Style Icon Award: Alia Bhatt

Women of the Year: Taapsee Pannu for Pink

Best Female Playback Singer: Tulsi Kumar for Airlift.

Best Female Playback Singer: Kanika Kapoor for Udta Punjab.

Best Performance in a negative role: Jim Sarbh for Neerja.

Best Actor in a comic role: Varun Dhawan for Dishoom.

Best Playback Singer- Male: Amit Mishra for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

And a special award was given to A. R. Rehman for his 25 years of musical contribution to the Indian Cinema.